Advanced Materials & Additive Manufacturing

The University of Connecticut is a national leader in the fields of advanced materials and additive manufacturing.  By partnering with UConn, original equipment manufacturers and their suppliers can pursue faster prototyping and the integration of more advanced materials – both plastics and metals – in their products. Today, UConn is one of the leading institutions for additive manufacturing research and prototyping, and is home to the Pratt & Whitney Additive Manufacturing Innovation Center (AMIC).

Alexandru Asandei, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Ali Gokirmak, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Anson Ma

Anson Ma, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor; Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; The Institute of Materials Science; UConn Site Director, National Science Foundation (NSF) Additive Manufacturing Center (SHAR3D); Technical Council Member, America's Flexible Electronics Manufacturing Innovation Institute (NedtFlex)

Arash Zaghi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Challa Kumar, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry, Head; The Division of Physical Chemistry and Head Department; The Division of Biological Chemistry; Department of Chemistry; The Department of Molecular and Cell Biology; Institute of Materials Sciences

Douglas Adamson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Fotios Papadimitrakopoulos, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry Department

Gregory Sotzing, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry

Helena Silva, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

James Rusling, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry; Professor of Surgery; Chemistry Department; Institute of Materials Science (IMS); Institute for Collaboration on Health, Intervention, and Policy (InCHIP), UConn Storrs; Surgery and Naeg Cancer Center, UConn Health

Leslie Loew, Ph.D.

Director of the Berlin Center for Cell Analysis and Modeling - UConn Health Center. Boehringer Ingelheim Chair in Cell Sciences Professor of Cell Biology and Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Mark Aindow

Mark Aindow, Ph.D.

Professor, MSE & Associate Director, IMS

Prabhakar Singh, Ph.D.

UTC Endowed Chair Professor, Materials Science & Engineering; Director, Center for Clean Energy Engineering; Director, Fraunhofer Center for Energy Innovation

Pu-Xian Gao, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Materials Science & Engineering

Radenka Maric, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research

Rainer Hebert, Ph.D.

Castleman Term Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Director of Additive Manufacturing Innovation Center (AMIC)

Rajeswari Kasi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Robert Kelly, D.D.S., Ph.D.

Professor, Reconstructive Sciences

Alpay Pamir 2013

S. Pamir Alpay, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Head, MSE


  • Computational materials science
  • Design of electrical contacts
  • Dielectrics, ferroelectrics, and graded materials
  • Thin film growth and characterization

Sangamesh Kumbar, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Orthopaedics and Engineering

Sina Shahbazmohamadi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering; Director of Reverse Engineering Fabrication Inspection and Non-Destructive Evaluation (REFINE) Labs

Steve Suib

Steven Suib, Ph.D.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Director of the Institute of Materials Science

William Mustain, Ph.D.

Associate Professor; United Technologies Professor Engineering Innovation; Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; The Institute of Materials Science

Xiuling Lu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

Xu Chen

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Yu Lei, Ph.D.

Professor; Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Department of Biomedical Engineering

Yusuf Khan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery and Engineering