As home to both the Center for Clean Energy Engineering (C2E2) and the Fraunhofer Center for Energy Innovation (CEI), UConn’s faculty expertise and resources in the field of energy are extensive. C2E2 serves as a nexus for activities involving fundamental and applied research in clean and efficient energy systems and strives for the transformation of science to systems by taking theoretical and laboratory expertise and applying it to industrial challenges. The Center houses equipment for prototype manufacturing, fuel cell assembly, materials characterization, and fuel cell testing and diagnostics.

Alexandru Asandei, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Challa Kumar, Ph.D.

Professor of Chemistry, Head; The Division of Physical Chemistry and Head Department; The Division of Biological Chemistry; Department of Chemistry; The Department of Molecular and Cell Biology; Institute of Materials Sciences

Emmanouil Anagnostou, Ph.D.

Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

George Bollas, Ph.D.

Director & Associate Professor; UTC Institute for Advanced Systems Engineering; Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Jeffrey McCutcheon, Ph.D.

Associate Professor; Al Geib Professor of Environmental Engineering Research & Education; Co-Director Fraunhofer Center for Energy Innovation; Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Leslie Shor, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor; Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; The Institute of Materials Science

Mark Aindow

Mark Aindow, Ph.D.

Professor, MSE & Associate Director, IMS

Prabhakar Singh, Ph.D.

UTC Endowed Chair Professor, Materials Science & Engineering; Director, Center for Clean Energy Engineering; Director, Fraunhofer Center for Energy Innovation

Pu-Xian Gao, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Materials Science & Engineering

Radenka Maric, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research

Alpay Pamir 2013

S. Pamir Alpay, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Head, MSE


  • Computational materials science
  • Design of electrical contacts
  • Dielectrics, ferroelectrics, and graded materials
  • Thin film growth and characterization
Steve Suib

Steven Suib, Ph.D.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Director of the Institute of Materials Science

Sung-Yuel Park, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Yu Lei, Ph.D.

Professor; Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Department of Biomedical Engineering